Are you a vegan? It took me awhile to answer the question. No, I am not vegan, but these terms used nowadays confuses me.
I thought vegan and vegetarian are just the same. To clear my confusion and to update myself on what is going in terms of diet, I started to search. I was completely satisfied with what I knew. Now, when I look around my kitchen, it never is the same. Is soy sauce vegan?
Hold your thought right there! Let me share with you what I knew about being a vegan.
Vegan is what you call a person who is practicing Veganism. It is practiced by people who believes that animals must be saved from cruelty. May it be related to food, clothing or any other way vegan is against it.
Now you know what vegan is. Would you like to be one? It really isn’t bad at all. I am in fact considering to be one of them. So let us go back to my kitchen!
Of all the stuff in my pantry, the first thing that came to my mind is the soy sauce. I can’t live without it. I use it in almost all of my recipes and if not, it is always on the table for a sauce.
In the vegan perspective, let me find out if my most loved soy sauce will pass the taste of a vegan.
First of all, I need to track down from the start how my soy sauce was made. Did the factory harm any animal while making it? Or worse, is this soy sauce part soy, part animal?
Learning how to identify if the food is vegan is crucial. I am getting serious to this, so bear with me. Here are guidelines that will help, for a start.
Good thing the vegan life is already widely recognized in the consumer’s world. You see, there are packages that have "Vegan" labels in it. If you take the time to find out, it usually says, "Suitable for vegans" or it states "Certified vegan" together with the vegan logo. Here is an example of a vegan logo.
A lot of products that came from animals that can be misleading sometimes. For example, "whey powder, casein and what they call modified milk ingredients" may confuse you. They are all dairy products; it is just that the terms are still alien to you. They are not obvious either.
You will be surprised though as you go along, you will familiarize yourself with the terms and ingredients.
So sad though, my soy sauce, does not have the vegan logo. It does not have the allergen information as well. I guess this vegan way of living is not yet popular in the most part of our country. So I am left to read the ingredients.
Just to go through and really understand if soy sauce is vegan, I have to learn how soy sauce was made along with its basic ingredients. Below are the basic ingredients of a soy sauce. So far, there is no link whatsoever to animals. And boy, I was so happy!
So, to make sure there is no animal involved in the process of making the soy sauce, I learned upon my research the main processes below:
For further understanding, below is a demonstration of how soy sauce is made:
I could no longer track down the data on how the testing of the soy sauce was made but I read an article about a certain brand "Kikkoman" that they used animals in the process. You can learn about it if you are curious enough.
Now, to wrap up, I say that soy sauce is vegan. There is no animal product used in the ingredients, and there is no animal harmed in the process of production. Certainly, we do not have evidence that there is cruelty of animals involved in testing.
One admission of a certain brand that they do so would not mean that all of the manufacturers do the same.
We can go an extra mile and dig more about it, but well, it would be another headline.
Do you agree with me? I am firm to say soy sauce is vegan! However, if you have facts to share that would make me change my mind, feel free to share it here. We wait for your comments!
There’s nothing in this world that excites me more other than cooking. From appetizers to desserts, since then, I’ve always been passionate on making foods.